The digitized yearbook collection includes annuals covering the period from the late 1890s up to a decade ago. The yearbooks were issued under the following titles throughout the history of Valparaiso University and its predecessor, Northern Indiana Normal School.

  • Beacon (1941-present)
  • Uhlan (1934-1940)
  • Record (1911-1933)
  • There are also various annuals from the late 1890s-1917 named after specific classes (Scientific, Classic, Professional, and Medical).
  • In the early 20th century, Valparaiso University owned the Chicago College of Dental Surgery, which later became part of Loyola University. Loyola digitized the Dentos yearbook, including the years under Valparaiso University control. Those yearbooks can be found here.

The project has an intentional 10 year embargo to protect the privacy of current students and recent graduates.

All copies of the yearbooks have been scanned without redaction. Images and terminology from past volumes may be offensive and are not condoned by Valparaiso University. The Archives and Special Collections Department believes that it is important to retain the historical accuracy of publications. We encourage viewers to research historical context.

Select a Year to Browse

Keyword Search